Pagina principaleGruppiConversazioniAltroStatistiche
Cerca nel Sito
Questo sito utilizza i cookies per fornire i nostri servizi, per migliorare le prestazioni, per analisi, e (per gli utenti che accedono senza fare login) per la pubblicità. Usando LibraryThing confermi di aver letto e capito le nostre condizioni di servizio e la politica sulla privacy. Il tuo uso del sito e dei servizi è soggetto a tali politiche e condizioni.

Risultati da Google Ricerca Libri

Fai clic su di un'immagine per andare a Google Ricerca Libri.

Sto caricando le informazioni...

The Jane Austen Society

di Natalie Jenner

UtentiRecensioniPopolaritàMedia votiCitazioni
1,0337719,557 (3.76)61
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--… (altro)
Sto caricando le informazioni...

Iscriviti per consentire a LibraryThing di scoprire se ti piacerà questo libro.

Attualmente non vi sono conversazioni su questo libro.

» Vedi le 61 citazioni

The Jane Austen Society is character-driven historical fiction loosely based on the founding of the real first Jane Austen Society. It follows a group of people in post-World War II Chawton, England who are all dealing with losses and begin to find salvation in trying to preserve the cottage where Ms. Austen wrote and revised her work as a museum. This diverse group -- a widower doctor, a bachelor attorney, the daughter of a descendant of Jane Austen's brother, a reluctant farmer, a young teen forced to quit school and going into service at the Great House, a young, widowed teacher, an acclaimed Hollywood actress, and a Sotheby's auctioneer -- help each other to move on with their lives and share their love of all things Austen. The story is engaging, but the writing bogged down at times in internal monologues in the middle of a conversation that were distracting, a little too much telling rather than showing. Nevertheless, this novel is a tribute to the power of literature and a lovely exploration of the interpersonal relationships in this rural English village in the 1940s. Really about 3 and a half stars for me. ( )
  bschweiger | Feb 4, 2024 |
It was fun trying to see which Austen characters were being used as templates for the characters in this novel about trying to protect the legacy of Austen.
Richard Armitage is a talented reader. I will seek him out again! ( )
  wvlibrarydude | Jan 15, 2024 |
I liked this book ok, in spite of my better judgement.

It started out great---I could imagine beloved Chawton, the Cottage, the Great House, all the things that us Janeites are familiar with and love about Jane's village. Then the characters of Mimi and Jack were introduced and I was immediately turned off by their storyline. It seemed glaringly out of place with its vulgar language and crude scenes.

On top of that, I wasn't sure how I felt about the made up family line and story of the acquisition of the Cottage---until a super fun regarding one of the characters twist made it great---then it fell flat when the group voted in a way I thought was ridiculous.

It all ended well, the bad guys and good guys dispatched accordingly, and I came away feeling overall positive. But I wouldn't read it again.

Warning: includes the obligatory raunchy sex scene and obligatory gay character that many of us are so sick of. I have a hard time believing these appeal to the "general market" when so many people are turned off by them... ( )
  classyhomemaker | Dec 11, 2023 |
Read by Richard Armitage ( )
  Mama56 | Dec 2, 2023 |
This book is only for die hard Jane Austen fans. Each of the characters is modeled after the iconic creations from Emma, Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice. Additionally, there are endless discussions about Austen’s life and heirs. Even though Author Natalie Jenner ties all the knots together by the time you have slogged through this endless novel, you'll still regret the reading experience. ( )
  GordonPrescottWiener | Aug 24, 2023 |
nessuna recensione | aggiungi una recensione

Appartiene alle Serie

Devi effettuare l'accesso per contribuire alle Informazioni generali.
Per maggiori spiegazioni, vedi la pagina di aiuto delle informazioni generali.
Titolo canonico
Dati dalle informazioni generali inglesi. Modifica per tradurlo nella tua lingua.
Titolo originale
Titoli alternativi
Data della prima edizione
Personaggi
Dati dalle informazioni generali inglesi. Modifica per tradurlo nella tua lingua.
Luoghi significativi
Eventi significativi
Film correlati
Epigrafe
Dedica
Incipit
Citazioni
Ultime parole
Nota di disambiguazione
Redattore editoriale
Elogi
Lingua originale
DDC/MDS Canonico
LCC canonico

Risorse esterne che parlano di questo libro

Wikipedia in inglese

Nessuno

""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--

Non sono state trovate descrizioni di biblioteche

Descrizione del libro
Riassunto haiku

Discussioni correnti

Nessuno

Copertine popolari

Link rapidi

Voto

Media: (3.76)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 9
2.5 4
3 53
3.5 24
4 100
4.5 7
5 38

Sei tu?

Diventa un autore di LibraryThing.

 

A proposito di | Contatto | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Condizioni d'uso | Guida/FAQ | Blog | Negozio | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteche di personaggi celebri | Recensori in anteprima | Informazioni generali | 201,944,524 libri! | Barra superiore: Sempre visibile