Pagina principaleGruppiConversazioniEsploraStatistiche
Cerca nel Sito
Questo sito utilizza i cookies per fornire i nostri servizi, per migliorare le prestazioni, per analisi, e (per gli utenti che accedono senza fare login) per la pubblicità. Usando LibraryThing confermi di aver letto e capito le nostre condizioni di servizio e la politica sulla privacy. Il tuo uso del sito e dei servizi è soggetto a tali politiche e condizioni.
Hide this

Risultati da Google Ricerca Libri

Fai clic su di un'immagine per andare a Google Ricerca Libri.

Beautiful Bad: A Novel di Annie Ward
Sto caricando le informazioni...

Beautiful Bad: A Novel (originale 2019; edizione 2019)

di Annie Ward (Autore)

UtentiRecensioniPopolaritàMedia votiCitazioni
20831103,374 (3.52)5
For fans of The Woman in the Window and Gone Girl comes a twisted and addictive psychological thriller about a cunning wife, a damaged husband and a chilling murder that no one saw coming Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry ... That something is really, really wrong with me. Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son, Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo. From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.… (altro)
Utente:Cr8on6
Titolo:Beautiful Bad: A Novel
Autori:Annie Ward (Autore)
Info:Park Row (2019), Edition: Original, 368 pages
Collezioni:La tua biblioteca
Voto:
Etichette:to-read, own

Informazioni sull'opera

Beautiful Bad di Annie Ward (2019)

Sto caricando le informazioni...

Iscriviti per consentire a LibraryThing di scoprire se ti piacerà questo libro.

Attualmente non vi sono conversazioni su questo libro.

» Vedi le 5 citazioni

Thank you to Kim from Park Row Books for the opportunity to review this book. I had started this right after I’d received it. Unfortunately I had to move and the book had gotten misplaced during somehow and I’ve only recently found it. So my apologies for the very, very late review.
The story starts off with a 911 call which pulled me in immediately. From there we go back in time and the story is told from different points of view and from different time periods. The story revolves around Maddie and Jo, two best friends who are traveling overseas. They meet a few bodyguards during this time and their lives become intertwined periodically over the next few years. Maddie and Ian (one of the bodyguards) have chemistry, but we are left to wonder exactly what is up with Jo and Ian.
Years go by and we find Ian and Maddie are married with a son. Maddie is getting help to overcome trauma from some type of fall she had that she does not remember. Her and Jo are not speaking, and the reason isn’t given immediately. All of this culminates leading to the 911 call in the beginning of the book.
Overall I really enjoyed the story, although I wasn’t a fan of a few of the characters, including Jo. I think some of the descriptions could’ve been shortened to keep the readers interest continual, but overall 4.5 stars. ( )
  purple_pisces22 | Mar 14, 2021 |
I was provided a pre-publisher copy via NetGalley. This book will be out in March 2019. This book reminded me a lot of the Gone Girl style. If you are one who enjoyed that story, then this will be an enjoyable read. The book begins with a cliff hanger of an event. The book covers Maddie a younger woman who is a journalist and working in war torn and third world countries. She has a best friend Joanna that works is getting relief aid to people within these same areas. Both of them cross paths with security detail of various kinds and then run into Ian. Ian is a big, burly Brit that comes across as aloof but then very caring. Romance ensues and off goes the story. You move back and forth between current time, just prior to current time and the past when these three meet. The author does a job keeping you aware of the different timelines and gives enough information to keep you guessing about the opening chapter (current time). It has a few twists and turns and a rather short, abrupt ending which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 4. ( )
  mm691984 | Feb 11, 2021 |
I actually won this book in a Goodreads giveaway and was very interested based off of the cover and synopsis.

The book was definitely very interesting, there was a lot of back then and now type stuff. Sometimes I like that in a book and sometimes it can be a little too much. This book it almost came to be too much. Although the intended purpose was suspense and it definitely worked in that aspect.

One thing I always look for in thrillers is if they can surprise me. This one did an okay job, but there were some parts that were just a little too predictable for me.

I would still recommend it to any thriller lovers. It was definitely a worthwhile read. Also, the storyline was very unique. ( )
  Yodareads12 | Nov 30, 2020 |
I feel like the book took forever to get going. Too much of the book was devoted to describing Maddie’s obsessive attraction to Ian and his seeming indifference and then on again off again response to her. It took so long that I almost considered abandoning the book, but then they got together and the book picked up. I loved the 100 pages or so - the ending was not what I expected at all and is the reason I rated it so highly. Jo was also an interesting character although with friends like her, who needs enemies? One of my book clubs read this book which is why I picked it up. ( )
  JRlibrary | Aug 22, 2020 |
Debut psychological triller. Story is told in 3 timelines....countdown to the killing, the killing itself, and Maddie/Ian/Jo relationship. Maddie is teaching English in Bulgaria and goes to visit her bff, Jo, in Macedonia. They are young, single and fearless. They meet Ian, soldier/bodyguard. Both are attracted to Ian. Relationship between the three is messy and complicated, and ultimately leads to death. This book will keep you guessing as all characters are flawed, twisted. Book delves into TBI, PTSD. Ending left me feeling uneasy and concerned! Thoroughly enjoyed this thriller....hard to read at times, but harder to put down!

Thanks to NetGalley and the Publisher for this ARC. Opinion is mine alone! ( )
  LoriKBoyd | Mar 24, 2020 |
nessuna recensione | aggiungi una recensione
Devi effettuare l'accesso per contribuire alle Informazioni generali.
Per maggiori spiegazioni, vedi la pagina di aiuto delle informazioni generali.
Titolo canonico
Titolo originale
Titoli alternativi
Data della prima edizione
Personaggi
Luoghi significativi
Eventi significativi
Film correlati
Premi e riconoscimenti
Epigrafe
Dedica
Incipit
Citazioni
Ultime parole
Nota di disambiguazione
Redattore editoriale
Elogi
Lingua originale
DDC/MDS Canonico
LCC canonico

Risorse esterne che parlano di questo libro

Wikipedia in inglese

Nessuno

For fans of The Woman in the Window and Gone Girl comes a twisted and addictive psychological thriller about a cunning wife, a damaged husband and a chilling murder that no one saw coming Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry ... That something is really, really wrong with me. Maddie and Ian's romance began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian's PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son, Charlie; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo. From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

Non sono state trovate descrizioni di biblioteche

Descrizione del libro
Riassunto haiku

Copertine popolari

Link rapidi

Voto

Media: (3.52)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 9
2.5
3 15
3.5 2
4 29
4.5
5 7

Sei tu?

Diventa un autore di LibraryThing.

 

A proposito di | Contatto | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Condizioni d'uso | Guida/FAQ | Blog | Negozio | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteche di personaggi celebri | Recensori in anteprima | Informazioni generali | 164,524,027 libri! | Barra superiore: Sempre visibile