Pagina principaleGruppiConversazioniEsploraStatistiche
Cerca nel Sito
Questo sito utilizza i cookies per fornire i nostri servizi, per migliorare le prestazioni, per analisi, e (per gli utenti che accedono senza fare login) per la pubblicità. Usando LibraryThing confermi di aver letto e capito le nostre condizioni di servizio e la politica sulla privacy. Il tuo uso del sito e dei servizi è soggetto a tali politiche e condizioni.
Hide this

Risultati da Google Ricerca Libri

Fai clic su di un'immagine per andare a Google Ricerca Libri.

TBH #1: TBH, This Is So Awkward di Lisa…
Sto caricando le informazioni...

TBH #1: TBH, This Is So Awkward (edizione 2019)

di Lisa Greenwald (Autore)

Serie: TBH (1)

UtentiRecensioniPopolaritàMedia votiConversazioni
804274,039 (3.38)Nessuno
Told entirely in text messages, this addictive new series from the acclaimed author of My Life in Pink & Green is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass. To be honest, middle school is rough! Cecily, Gabby, and Prianka have been BFFAE since pre-K, so it's totally natural when they don't include the new girl, Victoria, in their plans and group texts. Between organizing the school Valentine's Day dance, prepping for their first boy-girl party, and trying to keep their texts so boring their moms won't use spy apps to read them, the friends only have time for each other. But when Victoria is accidentally sent a hurtful text message, the entire sixth grade gets called out for bullying, cell phones are confiscated, and the trio known as CPG4Eva is forced to figure out just how strong their friendships are IRL.… (altro)
Utente:ftbooklover
Titolo:TBH #1: TBH, This Is So Awkward
Autori:Lisa Greenwald (Autore)
Info:Katherine Tegen Books (2019), Edition: Illustrated, 224 pages
Collezioni:La tua biblioteca
Voto:***
Etichette:young-adult-middle-grade, august-mg-challenge-2021, romance-series

Informazioni sull'opera

TBH, This Is So Awkward di Lisa Greenwald

Nessuno
Sto caricando le informazioni...

Iscriviti per consentire a LibraryThing di scoprire se ti piacerà questo libro.

Attualmente non vi sono conversazioni su questo libro.

Mostra 4 di 4
Cecily, Prianka, and Gabby have been friends as long as they can remember, and they have communicated using group texts to each other. However, Victoria is new to school and is trying hard to fit in. When she discovers that the three other girls talk to each other through group texts, she tries to join in so she can become their friend. The girls aren't exactly mean to her, but they do exclude her from their texting group, but what happens when one of the girls makes a mistake?

TBH, This Is SO Awkward is the first in the TBH series. Almost the entire story is told through texts, notes, journal entries, and emails. The format makes it a little difficult to get into the flow and pace of the story because the reader must constantly check to see who is talking in order to understand what is going on. However, this method of storytelling does allow for a quick read, especially for those who are familiar with texting language and symbols. There is also a glossary in the back of the book to help those who need translations. Overall, TBH, This Is SO Awkward, is an original story, containing a good lesson. ( )
  ftbooklover | Oct 12, 2021 |
A trio of friends experience a lot of drama throughout the first half of the school year as they deal with planning a dance, worrying about crushes, looming threats of moving, and not-so-successfully negotiating adding new friends to the mix.

This book is written almost entirely in text (complete with tons of emojis), with the addition of a few letters from the principal, handwritten notes, and emails. This may seem like a contrivance but it works incredibly well here. I love seeing a modern twist on the epistolary novel. Greenwald manages to build a compelling story with characters who feel real.

A big undercurrent in this book involves the introduction of a new girl to the school; she desperately wants to fit in and while the three main friends don't intend to be mean, they end up being exactly so. I like the idea that no one really sets out to be the bully but sometimes it happens if a person isn't consciously trying otherwise. I think this is important for kids (and adults) to realize and hope this book will help them examine their own social relationships. ( )
  sweetiegherkin | Oct 30, 2019 |
Literary Merit: Good
Characterization: Excellent
Recommended: Recommended
Level: Middle School

TBH, this book is pretty stinking cute.

Gabby, Priyanka, and Cecily are three best friends in the sixth grade learning how to navigate first crushes, school dances, and new classmates. A lot of issues arise throughout the story, like social media misuse, bullying, and a bit of stalkerish, pushy behavior. It’s hard to agree with one party in regards to the issues being presented because no one is completely innocent.

New girl Victoria feels unwelcome in her new school and takes it upon herself to take some of her classmates phone numbers from the school registry and just randomly start texting them. While this isn’t the worst offense possible, it’s still a little bit of a violation of privacy. It would have been different if she had asked the classmates first if they were comfortable with her contacting them, but instead she just went full speed ahead and basically pushed into their social circle. On the other side of the spectrum, Cece, Gabby and Pri were not all the most welcoming, and while they didn’t think they were being outright mean to Victoria, they didn’t realize that by ignoring her, they were hurting her feelings just as badly as if they were to say nasty things to or about her. In the end however, things get resolved and wrapped up nicely. Everyone realizes that it’s easier to just be nice, and give others a chance and get to know them before making any judgments.

My favorite thing about this book was that the entire thing was told in text and email format with lots of emojis. It really enhanced the story and made it easy for pacing purposes and atmosphere. Young kids are really obsessed with their phones and texting their friends so it portrayed their age group quite well and dug into the real life issue of cyber bullying. I love stories that are told in mixed media, especially text. It makes things more interesting and definitely helps with finishing the story faster.

Overall, this was a really cute read and a great way for young girls and boys to learn a lesson about social media behavior and acceptance. ( )
1 vota SWONroyal | Mar 6, 2018 |
3.5 stars

*Read at work for review for ROYAL*

TBH, this book is pretty stinking cute.

Gabby, Priyanka, and Cecily are three best friends in the sixth grade learning how to navigate first crushes, school dances, and new classmates. A lot of issues arise throughout the story, like social media misuse, bullying, and a bit of stalkerish, pushy behavior. It’s hard to agree with one party in regards to the issues being presented because no one is completely innocent.

New girl Victoria feels unwelcome in her new school and takes it upon herself to take some of her classmates phone numbers from the school registry and just randomly start texting them. While this isn’t the worst offense possible, it’s still a little bit of a violation of privacy. It would have been different if she had asked the classmates first if they were comfortable with her contacting them, but instead she just went full speed ahead and basically pushed into their social circle. On the other side of the spectrum, Cece, Gabby and Pri were not all the most welcoming, and while they didn’t think they were being outright mean to Victoria, they didn’t realize that by ignoring her, they were hurting her feelings just as badly as if they were to say nasty things to or about her. In the end however, things get resolved and wrapped up nicely. Everyone realizes that it’s easier to just be nice, and give others a chance and get to know them before making any judgments.

My favorite thing about this book was that the entire thing was told in text and email format with lots of emojis. It really enhanced the story and made it easy for pacing purposes and atmosphere. Young kids are really obsessed with their phones and texting their friends so it portrayed their age group quite well and dug into the real life issue of cyber bullying. I love stories that are told in mixed media, especially text. It makes things more interesting and definitely helps with finishing the story faster.

Overall, this was a really cute read and a great way for young girls and boys to learn a lesson about social media behavior and acceptance.
( )
  mmalyn | Feb 24, 2018 |
Mostra 4 di 4
nessuna recensione | aggiungi una recensione

Appartiene alle Serie

TBH (1)
Devi effettuare l'accesso per contribuire alle Informazioni generali.
Per maggiori spiegazioni, vedi la pagina di aiuto delle informazioni generali.
Titolo canonico
Dati dalle informazioni generali inglesi. Modifica per tradurlo nella tua lingua.
Titolo originale
Titoli alternativi
Data della prima edizione
Personaggi
Luoghi significativi
Eventi significativi
Film correlati
Premi e riconoscimenti
Epigrafe
Dedica
Incipit
Citazioni
Ultime parole
Nota di disambiguazione
Redattore editoriale
Elogi
Lingua originale
DDC/MDS Canonico
LCC canonico

Risorse esterne che parlano di questo libro

Wikipedia in inglese

Nessuno

Told entirely in text messages, this addictive new series from the acclaimed author of My Life in Pink & Green is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass. To be honest, middle school is rough! Cecily, Gabby, and Prianka have been BFFAE since pre-K, so it's totally natural when they don't include the new girl, Victoria, in their plans and group texts. Between organizing the school Valentine's Day dance, prepping for their first boy-girl party, and trying to keep their texts so boring their moms won't use spy apps to read them, the friends only have time for each other. But when Victoria is accidentally sent a hurtful text message, the entire sixth grade gets called out for bullying, cell phones are confiscated, and the trio known as CPG4Eva is forced to figure out just how strong their friendships are IRL.

Non sono state trovate descrizioni di biblioteche

Descrizione del libro
Riassunto haiku

Copertine popolari

Link rapidi

Voto

Media: (3.38)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4
4.5 1
5 1

Sei tu?

Diventa un autore di LibraryThing.

 

A proposito di | Contatto | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Condizioni d'uso | Guida/FAQ | Blog | Negozio | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteche di personaggi celebri | Recensori in anteprima | Informazioni generali | 166,087,733 libri! | Barra superiore: Sempre visibile