Pagina principaleGruppiConversazioniEsploraStatistiche
Cerca nel Sito
Questo sito utilizza i cookies per fornire i nostri servizi, per migliorare le prestazioni, per analisi, e (per gli utenti che accedono senza fare login) per la pubblicità. Usando LibraryThing confermi di aver letto e capito le nostre condizioni di servizio e la politica sulla privacy. Il tuo uso del sito e dei servizi è soggetto a tali politiche e condizioni.
Hide this

Risultati da Google Ricerca Libri

Fai clic su di un'immagine per andare a Google Ricerca Libri.

Alias Hook di Lisa Jensen
Sto caricando le informazioni...

Alias Hook (edizione 2014)

di Lisa Jensen (Autore)

UtentiRecensioniPopolaritàMedia votiCitazioni
19720110,631 (3.87)12
""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"--… (altro)
Utente:Rosa.Mill
Titolo:Alias Hook
Autori:Lisa Jensen (Autore)
Info:Thomas Dunne Books (2014), 368 pages
Collezioni:Read Off My Bookshelf
Voto:
Etichette:to-read

Informazioni sull'opera

Alias Hook di Lisa Jensen

Sto caricando le informazioni...

Iscriviti per consentire a LibraryThing di scoprire se ti piacerà questo libro.

Attualmente non vi sono conversazioni su questo libro.

» Vedi le 12 citazioni

También en: El Extraño Gato del Cuento

¿Se acuerdan de mi amigo no tan querido Peter Pan? Una historia que como libro no me convenció tanto pero como personaje hubo uno que resaltó de todos, mi querido Capitán Hook. Ok, quizá en los últimos años se volvió deseado gracias a Colin O'Donoghue en una de mis series favoritas Once Upon a Time.

En el libro original y los entendidos de éste, ponen al Capitán Garfio como todo lo que un niño teme: la responsabilidad, crecer, envejecer. No sé tú, pero yo siempre me pregunté cómo es que nuestro Capitán llega a Nuncajamás o el porqué de ese lugar. O cómo es que casi nadie ve la crueldad del mocoso volador. Alias Hook, como habrás podido adivinar por el nombre, se centra en el capitán, este hombre supuestamente cruel y malvado que lo único que quiere es acabar con la alegría y diversión de Peter Pan. Pero ¿por qué? ¿Por qué tanto odio? ¿Alguna vez lo has pensado?

Voy a ser sincera, Alias Hook es un libro que se está haciendo difícil de reseñar, me gustó mucho la manera en la que la escritora Lisa Jensen junta la historia del libro original y este, es muy interesante. O como es que podemos ver la inocencia de Peter como en realidad es, cruel y sanguinaria. Lo que me hizo recordar a otro libro, The Detainee, libro dónde también la extrema inocencia llega ser sanguinaria y cruel.

Sé que no me estoy explicando mucho, este es uno de esos libros que para mí son interesantes de leer pero difíciles de reseñar pero aun así no quería dejar en el olvido Alias Hook, si no quedaron muy contentos con como terminar el Capitán en Peter Pan o quieran saber más sobre él, Alias Hook les dará muchísimo más de lo que buscan.

Y ya que al inicio te hable de mi obsesión...



Twitter || Blog || Pinterest || Tumblr || Instagram ( )
  Ella_Zegarra | Jan 18, 2022 |
If you enjoyed Wicked and enjoy re-imagined fairy tales and historical fiction, this book is for you.

Did you ever wonder how Hook came to be in Neverland, a place where grownups are not allowed? This is the story of James Benjamin Hook, otherwise known as Captain Hook from the story of Peter Pan. But this is not children's fairy tale. It is dark, brutal, and Jensen's Pan is a petulant, nasty little piece of work (in mom lingo: a little shit) who has kept Hook around for 200 years, killing him over and over again, just so he and his Lost Boys can triumph once again over grownups.

As Hook himself tires of the games and longs for actual, final death, the very grownup Stella Parrish somehow dreams herself to Neverland, very much against Peter's rules which puts her in grave danger. Her arrival occurs as signs appear to both the fairies and the Indians signaling a change - is the Hook's chance to escape the enchantment?

Dark, horrible, replete with naughty fairies that were never imagined by Disney and a complicated main character, this is a tale of forgiveness and redemption.

You can read my full review on my blog at http://www.mommaontherocks.com/4747/im-reading-wed…day-alias-hook ( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
3.5.
I liked it; didn't love it. It did drag at times but in the end it was a fairly decent read. ( )
  lost_in_here | Jun 23, 2021 |
I'm a sucker for re-imaginings of classic children's stories or fairytales. I liked this one, although the characters still stayed kind of distant through the book. I feel like there were possibilities to do even more with the story. And I kind of wanted to know what had happened to Pan for him to not want to grow up. I have to check if this was stand-alone book or a series. Although I think it's not a series thinking how the book ended. Enjoyable, but would've had potential for more. ( )
  RankkaApina | Feb 22, 2021 |
It's not you, it's me. I was in nowhere in the right place to enjoy this book. I might try again later.
  mitsuzanna | Sep 26, 2019 |
nessuna recensione | aggiungi una recensione
Devi effettuare l'accesso per contribuire alle Informazioni generali.
Per maggiori spiegazioni, vedi la pagina di aiuto delle informazioni generali.
Titolo canonico
Titolo originale
Titoli alternativi
Data della prima edizione
Personaggi
Luoghi significativi
Eventi significativi
Film correlati
Premi e riconoscimenti
Epigrafe
Dedica
Incipit
Citazioni
Ultime parole
Nota di disambiguazione
Redattore editoriale
Elogi
Lingua originale
DDC/MDS Canonico
LCC canonico

Risorse esterne che parlano di questo libro

Wikipedia in inglese

Nessuno

""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"--

Non sono state trovate descrizioni di biblioteche

Descrizione del libro
Riassunto haiku

Link rapidi

Voto

Media: (3.87)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 3
4 12
4.5 2
5 10

Sei tu?

Diventa un autore di LibraryThing.

 

A proposito di | Contatto | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Condizioni d'uso | Guida/FAQ | Blog | Negozio | APIs | TinyCat | Biblioteche di personaggi celebri | Recensori in anteprima | Informazioni generali | 165,989,347 libri! | Barra superiore: Sempre visibile